The "Kornhus" – also known as the Stone House – was one of the four stone houses which had been built in Bad Münder during the era of the Weser Renaissance from the 16th to the mid-17th century. In the middle of the 16th century, this impressive building was erected as a granary with a two-story massive and fireproof base and a stone wall one meter thick. At that time, many towns had proactively built such storehouses for times of emergency, such as sieges, crop failures or fires.
The “Kornhus” had been used as a bakery until 1928. Its waste heat served as an excellent drying aid and was channelled to the granaries of the three-story roof. A stony country servant, crowning the gable of the granary, carries a banner with the date 1772. The first concession to operate a restaurant was awarded in 1924. Thus the building was initially called "House of the Fathers". After the 2nd World War the "Kornhus" remained a restaurant, which has been tenderly restored by the current owners (Fam. Mildenberger).